Skip to main content

Bibliofile - October

Well, here we are in early November and time to take stock of last month's reading.  Let's see, we were at 85 books at the end of September. Add 7 more in October and that's, um, carry the four and…oh, yeah, 92 books this year with 2 months to go. Safe to say I'll likely pass 100. A far cry from the 30 I projected at the outset of the year.

I started out the month with Stephen King's latest, actually a sequel to The Shining, called Doctor Sleep. Typical King "edge of your seat" kind of novel. It doesn't quite compare to The Shining but I still loved it.

I read a couple of musical autobiographies. The first by the late Levon Helm. The second by Graham Nash. Fans of The Band and Crosby, Stills & Nash will enjoy these. I did. And of course my CD collection grew as I read each one.

I also read the first two books in the There Goes The Galaxy trilogy by blogging body Jenn Thorson. If you like science-fiction with a humouristic twist then these are for you. In spots I laughed out loud. Which is okay because I'm usually alone when I read during the daytime.

I have to mention an interesting book called The Girl by "the girl" at the centre of the Roman Polanski rape case. It was a fascinating read.

And I closed out the month with another sequel. This called Sycamore Row by John Grisham which follows up on the main character from 1989's A Time To Kill. Excellent read. Grisham for me is one of those "go to" authors that never disappoint. Like King, Lehane, Follett, Rankin, Archer and several others who's next book I always anticipate.

So here's the list for October...

Doctor Sleep - Stephen King
This Wheel's on Fire - Levon Helm
There Goes The Galaxy - Jenn Thorson
The Purloined Number - Jenn Thorson
The Girl - Samantha Geimer
Wild Tales - Graham Nash
Sycamore Row - John Grisham

A fairly eclectic collection, to be sure. What are you reading these days? Any recommendations?


Screaming Me-Me said…
I often say, I just don't have time for reading. Which isn't true, I read all the time --non-fiction. Your list here gives me some great ideas for getting back to fiction. Thanks!
nonamedufus said…
The majority of what I sad this month were recent releases. I've got to get back to my detective novels by Crais, Mankell and R.J. Ellory.
Linda Medrano said…
I'm in the middle of "Sycamore Row" and loving it.
Nora Blithe said…
Hey! I know Jenn Thorson! Have you read the Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin? Blew my mind. I can't think about reading (or writing for that matter) in the same way.
nonamedufus said…
It's so well written isn't it? I zipped right through it.
nonamedufus said…
I've read all 5 books. I loved the series. I enjoyed it so much I stayed away from the TV series because I was sure it couldn't live up to the books. Then I was convinced to watch the first season on DVD and was blown away by the acting, the production values and how close they actually stuck to the books.
Bryan G. said…
So it looks like part of the month was sequels: Doctor Sleep and A Time To Kill, which that one I didn't know had a sequel to it until I read this post. You're lapping me on the number of books read this year. I'll be lucky if I get to my goal of 75. I've hit a lull lately, but hope to pick it back up at Thanksgiving.
nonamedufus said…
Both "sequels" were excellent reads. But I guess I'd call them both "next in the series" as opposed to sequels, even though they've been promoted as such.

Popular posts from this blog

My Back Pages - October

Well, folks, I read seven (count 'em) seven books in October. One I didn't finish but even at that I hit the magic number 50 I estimated for myself by the end of the year. The six books I successfully waded through were, firstly, What Happened, Hillary Clinton's book on her bid for the Presidency. I''m a bit of a political junkie so I get off on this stuff but still it kinda struck me as one long whine over losing.
Next up was the excellent Canyon of Dreams: The Magic and Music of Laurel Canyon. Laurel Canyon was the fabled area outside of Los Angeles where many musicians and artists lived. Known as a 60s enclave, the book takes a look at just who lived there over the last 80 years. A fascinating read.
Next up was Lightfoot, a biography of Canadian folk singer Gordon Lightfoot. He may have been responsible for some iconic folk songs but he was also quite the womanizer and boozer. Enough said.
Then I read Dan Brown's new tome Origin, the fifth in the Robert Lan…

My Back Pages - November

I know, I know, I know I should have reported in before now. But sometimes real life just gets in the way. I attempted 5 books in November. I say attempted because I slapped a big DNF (did not finish) on Neal Stephenson's Cryptonomicon. I just can't seem to get into this guy. It's the second or third of his I've given up on,

Not so the other four, starting with a biography of Stephen Stills called Change Partners. This followed by a hilarious biography of the guy responsible for National Lampoon called A Stupid and Futile Gesture - How Doug Kenney and National Lampoon Changed Comedy Forever.

I ended the month reading yet another biography, this one of the man behind Rolling Stone magazine,. It was called Sticky Fingers: The Life and Times of Jann Wenner and Rolling Stone Magazine. A fascinating read.

So last month I hit the magic number 50 I'd imagined for myself back in January. If I roll this month into my yearly total I'm at 54 books. And I still have Decem…