Skip to main content

Bibliofile - October


Well, here we are in early November and time to take stock of last month's reading.  Let's see, we were at 85 books at the end of September. Add 7 more in October and that's, um, carry the four and…oh, yeah, 92 books this year with 2 months to go. Safe to say I'll likely pass 100. A far cry from the 30 I projected at the outset of the year.

I started out the month with Stephen King's latest, actually a sequel to The Shining, called Doctor Sleep. Typical King "edge of your seat" kind of novel. It doesn't quite compare to The Shining but I still loved it.

I read a couple of musical autobiographies. The first by the late Levon Helm. The second by Graham Nash. Fans of The Band and Crosby, Stills & Nash will enjoy these. I did. And of course my CD collection grew as I read each one.

I also read the first two books in the There Goes The Galaxy trilogy by blogging body Jenn Thorson. If you like science-fiction with a humouristic twist then these are for you. In spots I laughed out loud. Which is okay because I'm usually alone when I read during the daytime.

I have to mention an interesting book called The Girl by "the girl" at the centre of the Roman Polanski rape case. It was a fascinating read.

And I closed out the month with another sequel. This called Sycamore Row by John Grisham which follows up on the main character from 1989's A Time To Kill. Excellent read. Grisham for me is one of those "go to" authors that never disappoint. Like King, Lehane, Follett, Rankin, Archer and several others who's next book I always anticipate.

So here's the list for October...

Doctor Sleep - Stephen King
This Wheel's on Fire - Levon Helm
There Goes The Galaxy - Jenn Thorson
The Purloined Number - Jenn Thorson
The Girl - Samantha Geimer
Wild Tales - Graham Nash
Sycamore Row - John Grisham

A fairly eclectic collection, to be sure. What are you reading these days? Any recommendations?

Comments

Screaming Me-Me said…
I often say, I just don't have time for reading. Which isn't true, I read all the time --non-fiction. Your list here gives me some great ideas for getting back to fiction. Thanks!
nonamedufus said…
The majority of what I sad this month were recent releases. I've got to get back to my detective novels by Crais, Mankell and R.J. Ellory.
Linda Medrano said…
I'm in the middle of "Sycamore Row" and loving it.
Nora Blithe said…
Hey! I know Jenn Thorson! Have you read the Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin? Blew my mind. I can't think about reading (or writing for that matter) in the same way.
nonamedufus said…
It's so well written isn't it? I zipped right through it.
nonamedufus said…
I've read all 5 books. I loved the series. I enjoyed it so much I stayed away from the TV series because I was sure it couldn't live up to the books. Then I was convinced to watch the first season on DVD and was blown away by the acting, the production values and how close they actually stuck to the books.
Bryan G. said…
So it looks like part of the month was sequels: Doctor Sleep and A Time To Kill, which that one I didn't know had a sequel to it until I read this post. You're lapping me on the number of books read this year. I'll be lucky if I get to my goal of 75. I've hit a lull lately, but hope to pick it back up at Thanksgiving.
nonamedufus said…
Both "sequels" were excellent reads. But I guess I'd call them both "next in the series" as opposed to sequels, even though they've been promoted as such.

Popular posts from this blog

My Back Pages - November

I read five books last month bringing my year to date total to 61, well past the 50 I estimated at the beginning of the year. And I've yet to get through December.

The month started out with The Nix, the debut novel by Nathan Hill which has been receiving a lot off positive reviews. In it Hill flips back and fourth from the 1968 Chicago protests and 2011 in a desperate search for the truth behind why his mother abandoned him at an early age. In between Hill takes on politics, the media and addiction as well as other aspects of society. It's a well-spun tale and I quite enjoyed reading it.

Next up was the auto-biographical I Am Brian Wilson of Beach Boys fame. This was somewhat of a scattered affair but an interesting read nonetheless. Wilson - or his ghostwriter - however is no Hemingway.

Then it was on to one of my favourite authors, Ian Rankin and his latest tale of now retired Inspector John Rebus, Rather Be The Devil. I never tire of these stories and this is the 21st in …

My Back Pages - 2016

Here, as promised is a month-by-month breakdown of the 67 books I delved into this year. I got off to a strong start and then my intake dwindled for a couple of months until picking back up in April. I'll let you in on my favourites at the end of this list.

January

Here, There and Everywhere:
My Life Recording the Music of the Beatles - Geoff Emerick - ****
H is for Hawk - Helen Macdonald - ***
Close To The Edge - The Story of Yes - Chris Welch - ***
Sweet Caress - William Boyd - ****


February

Purity by Jonathan Franzen 
Still Alice by Lisa Genova.


March

Natchez Burning - Greg Iles
The Promise (Elvis Cole #20) - Robert Crais

April

The Snowman (Harry Hole)- Joe Nesbo ****
Phantom (Harry Hole) - Joe Nesbo ****
The Leopard (Harry Hole) - Jo Nesbo ****


May

George Harrison Reconsidered ***
The Heart Goes Last - Margaret Atwood ****
Dropping The Needle - The Vinyl Dialogues Volume II ***
The Electric Mist with the Confederate Dead, (Dave Robicheaux #6) - James Lee Burke****


June/.July

 Lust and Wonder - Aug…

Traveling Along Singing A Song

Pete and Paulie were strolling along one day. The sun was bright, the air was cool, the birds chirped crazily in the trees and the squirrels  munched merrily on their nuts. Well not their nuts exactly. Nuts they found on the ground and in the gardens in the park.

Paulie felt so good he began to whistle. It wasn't any tune in particular, just one of those annoyingly tuneless whistles that wandered all over the place. Pete looked at Paulie and he squiggled up his nose and he said "What the hell is that?" Paulie replied "Oh nothing in particular. I'm just happy." "But you're not even whistling a tune" said Pete. Paulie replied "If you're so wise I'd like to see you do better, Pete."

Pete went silent for a moment and seemed to mumble to himself for a moment or two. Then he cleared his throat with a little cough, he opened his mouth and he began to sing.


"There once was a king very wise
Who spoke to his enemies in disguise
T…